2.1: Emergent Occasions

Over the years, I never thought that much about the consequences of having a climbing accident. When friends of mine got hurt, I cried. But when I thought about the possibility of myself getting hurt, I didn’t consider how it could affect the people around me. It’s easy to take risks when you think you’re the only one paying the consequences. But that’s not how these things play out.

 
No man is an island,
Entire of itself.
Each is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thine own
Or of thine friend’s were.
Each man’s death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee.
 
excerpt from ‘Devotions Upon Emergent Occasions, and severall steps in my Sicknes‘, by John Donne
 

I had a serious climbing accident in January. Many people came together to rescue me and to help me recover, and thanks to all of them, I’m recovering well. The past few months have come with interesting experiences and new perspectives. I think some of them play counterpoint to the earlier posts from 2018. In the broader context of 2020, most problems feel minor, but I want to share my thoughts while they are fresh in my mind. So, I’m starting a new chapter of this blog.

There have been several new surgeries, which means new anatomy lessons and more marvels of modern medicine. I’ll update soon.

One thought on “2.1: Emergent Occasions

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑